T Level Design and Development For Engineering and Manufacturing

T Level


T Levels are a brand-new qualification that mark a significant change in technical education. T-levels follow GCSEs. They are equivalent to three A-Levels, and will become one of the main choices for student in Year 12 and Year 13, alongside A-levels and apprenticeships. They are a two-year qualification that bring together classroom-based learning and work placement, on a course designed in collaboration with employers. T-Levels also carry UCAS points for progression into Higher Education.

Students will develop an understanding of a broad range of issues relevant to the sector, including:

  • working within the Engineering and Manufacturing Sectors – an understanding of how materials, conditions and context influence design processes and products
  • essential mathematics for engineering and manufacturing – a knowledge and understanding of mathematics including standard matrices and determinants and standard trigonometry
  • materials and their properties – understanding material processing techniques and their effects on materials and material quality, the condition of materials, how these are managed, and materials testing methods and techniques
  • business, commercial and financial awareness - basic commercial principles including commercial priorities and markets, customers/clients/partners and resource allocation


This course is suitable for anyone interested in a career in design and development for engineering and manufacturing. Career options might include:


Coursework and exams

Duration: 2 years
Entry requirements:


Programme leader:

Noel Wood

Enhancing your studies

Life after Henley

Can't decide?

If you're having trouble deciding what course to do, try comparing some of the key information by adding your chosen courses to the comparison tool.

The next step

Share Contact us Request prospectus APPLY NOW


ESF logo
National Centre for Diversity Top  100 2016
ESFA logo
Ofsted Good Logo